Image

Author: Cormac McCarthy
Pages: 351
Published: May 5, 1992 (originally published 1985)
Genre: Western, Historical Fiction, Classics
Rating: 4/5

This book tells the story of the Kid as he travels with a group of military men through the Western portion of the United States. The Kid leaves his family at a young age and is exposed to a wide variety of horrible experiences that he never expected.

I’m really torn about this book. While I love Cormac McCarthy in general, this book was pretty confusing and dense. I’m glad that I got it and was able to have the chance to read it, but I can’t say that I really recommend it to anyone that isn’t in love with Cormac or with books with a Western plot.

There was a lot of dark content in this book that involved killing humans of all ages as well as animals. So massive disclaimer, this book is royally screwed up. If you wanted to read a Cormac book, I would probably recommend The Road before this one.

