Image

Author: Cynthia Leitich Smith
Pages: 307
Published: February 10, 2009
Genre: YA, Paranormal (Vampires), Fantasy
Rating: 3/5

A paranormal young adult fiction novel that I’m not entirely sure I enjoyed. The writing style took about 100 pages for me to get used to. At points it seemed the author was trying too hard to write something unique. 

Miranda is a 17 year old high school student that desperately wants to fit in. She doesn’t realize that she has a guardian angel that has been with her for her entire life. One night she accompanies her best friend Lucy to a cemetery to meet up with the local Blockbuster equivalent employee. Only instead of having a good time with an older guy, Miranda is kidnapped by Radford aka Dracula. She is transformed into a vampire and for once all eyes are on her. 

It is up to her guardian angel to either save her or destroy her before she becomes completely evil. 

I’ve never read anything quite like this before and I have to admit that while I was eager to finish the book, I’m not 100% convinced that it was because I wanted to see what happened next or because I wanted to mark it as-read and then never think about it again. 

I give it a 3/5 because I didn’t completely hate it and parts of the story were enjoyable, but I couldn’t give it a full 5/5 because there was something definitely lacking in the writing of this book that I can’t quite pick out.

