Image

Author: Willy Claflin (Illustrated by James Stinson; Music by Brian Claflin)
Pages: 32
Published: August 16, 2012
Genre: Childrens, Fantasy (Fairy Tale), Animals, Humor
Rating: 5/5

The best way for me to tell if I enjoyed a kids book is whether or not I had a smile on my face while reading it. And this was the case for The Bully Goat Grim. I was smiling and laughing the entire time while I was reading this smartly written and beautifully illustrated book.

Maynard the Moose likes to tell stories to the other forest animals in the Northern Piney Woods every full moon. This particular story is about the Bully Goat Grim, a “dubnoxious” billy goat that enjoyed giving the other animals a hard time due to his Random Hostility Syndrome.

One day he decides that he wants to go to the Upland Pasture where there are delicious grasses for him to eat, but in order to get there he has to cross the troll bridge. Each time he crosses the troll bridge, he warns the trolls not to mess with him until one day the baby troll realizes that the Bully Goat Grim had been using double negatives when issuing his warning thereby asking for the trolls to mess with him.

A very quick read that I really enjoyed and will most likely read again and again.

**This book also comes with an audio CD that I do not have but am eager to listen to!

 

