Image

Author: Susan Hill
Pages: 138
Published: December 1, 2001 (originally published in 1983)
Genre: Horror, Gothic, Mystery, Classics, Historical Fiction
Rating: 5/5

I had seen the remake of the movie version of this book with Daniel Radcliffe and absolutely loved it. I had no idea it was even a book until I was browsing through a local book shop and saw it. 

The Woman in Black was a quick read, but satisfying read. Arthur was a lawyer asked to attend the funeral of Mrs Drablow from Eel Marsh House. After attending the funeral Arthur was to go through her estate and find any important documents and send them back to London to his office. However, once he arrives in the small town of Crythin Gifford, he realizes that something strange is connected to both Mrs Drablow and her house. 

He is warned time and time again to stay away from her property and to return home, but ignores these warnings and visits the Eel Marsh House only to be confronted by The Woman in Black.

This book was just under 200 pages and I finished it in one day. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. I definitely enjoyed the book more than the movie and am very happy that I found it. I will be adding this to my collection of creepiest horror novels!

