Image

Author: Micol Ostow
Pages: 368
Published: (Expected August 26, 2014)
Genre: YA, Horror, Mystery, Fantasy (Paranormal)
Rating: 4/5

I saw that this book had a rating of 3.23 on Goodreads and was honestly not sure what to expect. When I initially saw the summary of the book I was really excited to read it. So I decided to give it a shot.

This is the story of two separate families that both lived in the Amity home. 10 years before Gwen and Luke moved into the home, Connor and Julianne’s family lived there first. Their stories rotate so that Gwen and Luke’s story is told for about one chapter and then it flashes to 10 years ago and the story of Connor and Jules emerges.

Connor’s character is quickly defined as a sociopath. Connor and Jules are twins to very dysfunctional parents. Their mother is extremely timid and submissive, most likely a result of abuse at the hands of their father. While their father has always been abusive toward their mother and then toward their younger brother, he has never laid a hand on either of them. Connor believes this is because his father knows that Connor has major problems.

Gwen was hospitalized for hysteria prior to moving into the Amity home due to a few events where she attacked another girl and caused a rainstorm of stones. At one point she is diagnosed with catatonic schizophrenia. Shortly after moving into the Amity home, Gwen begins to have hallucinations of a young girl.

As both stories progress, the evil within the Amity home begins to overtake both Luke and Connor. It is also explained that the home has a very negative history as the land it was built on was once used as a place for dark magic, then used as an underground railroad for witches during the Salem trials, and prior to becoming a house, was also used as an asylum where patients were tortured.

While this book had some extremely predictable elements, I would have to say that I really enjoyed it. I read the book in basically one sitting and knew that I was enjoying it when I started to feel on edge while reading. I can’t give it a full 5/5 because I don’t think it was anything groundbreaking for a horror novel, but I did enjoy it and would recommend it for any horror buff looking for a new read this summer.

