Image

Author: Helena Hunting
Pages: 400
Published: March 4, 2014
Genre: Adult, New Adult, Romance
Rating: 4/5

I really enjoyed this story. Even though it was 400 pages long it seemed like a much quicker read due to the writing style. I felt like I really understood both Hayden and Tenley’s character by the first few chapters.

Hayden is a tattoo artist recovering from a severe drug addiction and the death of his parents. Tenley is a masters student at Northwestern recovering from a massive plane crash that killed her entire family and fiance. Once their paths cross, Hayden and Tenley enter into a passionate love affair that struggles to reveal their well kept secrets to the other person.

As their relationship builds, Hayden discovers more about Tenley and why she wants her first major tattoo to be a large back piece with very dark themes, some of which will end up covering up the scars she has all along her side and hip.

Tenley wants to break down Hayden’s tough exterior to find out what makes him not only insanely anal about organization, but also withdrawn and intense while he is around her. Working across the street from Hayden’s tattoo shop certainly doesn’t help her avoid his awkward advances once they meet, but it does allow her to gain some insight into Hayden since she works for his aunt.

I didn’t realize this was listed as book one on goodreads, but I’m really happy that it is because I felt that the ending wasn’t satisfying enough. Book two, Inked Armor was published in May of this year and I’ll definitely be adding it to my TBR list soon. This novel was full of pretty intense sexual scenarios, and while that could have easily taken away from the development of the main characters, I don’t think that was the case for this story. Hayden and Tenley are two beautifully broken individuals that have found love in each other and I am very interested in seeing how their story plays out.

