Author: E. Lockhart
Pages: 227
Published: March 13, 2014 (First Published January 1, 2014)
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Rating: 3.7/5

I’m not entirely sure what I think of this book, but I’ll give it somewhere between a 3.5 and 4/5.

Along with almost everyone else that’s read this book, I’m not going to say too much about the plot. But We Were Liars tells the story of a girl named Cadence Sinclair that is a member of the uber rich Sinclair family. Each summer her family vacations on this island that they have a bunch of houses on and she gets to spend time with her cousins and grandparents.

Obviously something happens to Cadence and things don’t go as planned.

This book was written almost as a bunch of poems and the chapters were really short. I think there were something like 84 chapters. It was a super quick read and I am happy that I read it. I’m just not convinced that I loved it.

