Author: Chris Beckett
Pages: 441
Published: April 1, 2014
Genre: Sci/Fi, Fantasy, Aliens
Rating: 3/5 (Did Not Finish this novel, but 3/5 for the strong story telling)

While I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about Dark Eden by Chris Beckett, I just could not get into this story. I read half of the book and continually lost interest. Maybe in the future I will pick it up again, but the sexual content is honestly what kept me from enjoying this novel.

Dark Eden is book one in a Sci/Fi series by Chris Beckett which takes place on the planet Eden. The main character, John Redlantern, is a part of one of eight groups of people that currently inhabit the planet. Eden is described as an alien planet discovered by a group of four scientists hundreds of years ago. After essentially stealing a rocket, the four scientists (and one woman who I can’t remember if she was a scientist or not) decided to land on the planet. Two of them, one man and the woman, decided to stay on the planet while the other three attempted to return to Earth. After a while the two that stayed began to reproduce and are responsible for the over 500 individuals that currently inhabit Eden.
Everyone on Eden is aware of Earth and the story of the founders of their planet and they are taught the stories of the founders by the Oldest in their group.

The premise of this story was very interesting and sounded originally like something I would have really enjoyed, but I had so many issues with some of the side plots that I could not stay focused.

