Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Pages: 401
Published: March 6, 1991
Genre: Adult, Horror, Psychological Thriller
Rating: 3/5

American Psycho is the classic tale of serial killer Patrick Bateman as he goes about his day to day activities living in Manhattan in the 1980s. He works on Wall Street and lavishes in a life of luxury with his group of “friends”. The reader is quickly thrown into the disordered lifestyle of Bateman through dense, incredibly detailed chapters documenting everything from his skin care routine to his favorite artists.

I read this book for a paper for one of my graduate school classes and honestly, if I didn’t have to finish the novel for class I’m really not sure if I would have. The first half of the book was pretty decent and I enjoyed Bateman’s character. But as the story went on and the depravity of Bateman began to surface, I found myself becoming more and more repulsed by him and his actions.

I gave this book a 3/5 for a few reasons. Primarily because of my physical reaction to the torture in the novel. Bateman is a royally disturbed character that spans through all of Ellis’s novels. I am happy that I can check this one off of my horror-TBR list, but it wasn’t my favorite by any means.

