Author: Nick Cook
Pages: 338
Published: May 5, 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy/Sci Fi, Steampunk
Rating: 5/5

After reading the description of this novel I was drawn in. Cloud Riders is book one in the Cloud Rider series and begins the story of Dom. Dom lives with his mom in Tornado Alley and helps out at their family diner. His father disappeared in the last tornado that they had and since then they have had an insane drought.

Finally, a storm appears in the middle of the night. But with it comes something unexpected, an airship. After helping them land their ship, Dom embarks on a crazy journey to uncover his heritage and what happened to his father.

This book was utterly fantastic. I expected to enjoy it, but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. The author is amazing and sent me a copy to review and I could not be more grateful. I haven’t read many steampunk type novels and am now completely hooked on Nick Cook’s Cloud Riders series. I am highly anticipating book two and will be following this author for hopefully the rest of his writing career. His world building was one of my favorites of 2014 and I can’t recommend this novel enough to anyone that loves sci/fi or adventure stories. Cloud Riders absolutely deserves the 5/5 that I gave it.

