Author: Sarah E. Boucher
Pages: 256
Published: November 11, 2014
Genre: YA, Retelling, Fairy Tale, Clean Romance
Rating: 5/5

Becoming Beauty is a debut novel from Sarah E Boucher and kept me captivated from page one. I read the entire book in one sitting because I had to know where the author was going with this modern retelling of Beauty & The Beast.

Bella is anything but grateful. Stubborn, entitled, and a pain to be around she constantly feels overshadowed by her sister. After coercing her father into risking his life for a rare ruby necklace, Bella’s siblings decide that she needs to take responsibility for her actions.

Forced into the service of the “Beast,” Bella is confronted with her worst nightmare; manual labor. But there turns out to be more to the “Beast” than she ever thought possible.

This story kept me guessing from page one. I absolutely loved this novel and especially loved the angle that the author took when describing the origins of the Beast. Incredibly lighthearted while talking about some pretty dark stuff, Becoming Beauty was an awesome debut novel from this author and I will absolutely be following her writing for years to come! 5/5

