Author: DB Nielsen
Pages: 432
Published: May 7, 2014
Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Paranormal
Rating: 3/5

Seed is book one in the Keepers of Genesis series by DB Nielsen. I read this book as our first pick for the Indie Book Club.

Sage and her twin sister have grown up immersed in a world of history. Their father has worked for museums their whole life and his job has taken them around the world. While visiting her dad in the museum, Sage stumbles into her father’s office only to discover that her father and a group of other museum workers hovered around a strange looking artifact on her dad’s desk. After quickly shooing Sage out of his office and then punishing her when he got home from work, Sage decides she has to go back to the museum and find out more about what she saw.

The mysterious St. John Rivers works for her father in the museum and had a pretty strange introduction to Sage where he began reciting Shakespeare to her. Sage and St. John then embark on a journey together through London uncovering secrets to a world Sage never thought possible.

Now to be honest, I had a lot of problems with this novel. The biggest problem was also the best part of the novel which was the amount of historical detail. After about 30% of the novel I began only reading the dialogue and yet still felt as if I wasn’t missing anything.

Another issue I had with the novel was the main plot. It felt incredibly jumbled and a little too radical for me. At one point I realized that I was rolling my eyes every time something new happened because it became too unbelievable. Now I understand that this is a paranormal world and thus things extend beyond the typical range of beliefs, however, this felt like it was reaching.

The writing was excellent and I did enjoy reading about the characters, but a lot of the main plot points kept taking me out of the story and if it weren’t for the book club, I’m not sure that I would have finished the novel. =/

However, even with all that I will continue on with this series because I do want to see where the author will take Sage’s character.

